And if I don’t Choose the Vegan Lifestyle, The Vegan Lifestyle Chooses Me!

Well, Well , Well. So, I guess I should give a little backstory. I’ve always had problems with my intestine, it never seemed to work ok. I could go like, two weeks, without having to go to the bathroom ( gross, right?) I could never really figure out why this happened, I did a million exams , including a freakishly traumatic colonoscopy that I shall never, I repeat, never ever do again, I would eat the correct foods, oats, raisins, dried plums, flaxseeds, lots of water, etc… And yet, nothing seemed to do the job. I noticed that at some times my body would work normally, but really, without explanation.

When I was a teenager, I was vegan for 2 years. and during that time i don’t remember ever having problems with my intestine. For those of you who don’t know, I was a vegan for 2 years and a vegetarian for 3 years, until today I still don’t eat much meat. I tend to eat tofu and beans, but not a lot of meat, especially red meat.

Anyhow, Yesterday I discovered that I am lactose intolerant and that is why I have had so much trouble with my intestine, it just doesn’t work with lactose. Which means that basically, I need to take EVERYTHING that has lactose out of my diet, that means milk, cookies, cake, ice cream, mayo, butter, margarine, cream cheese, any kind of cheese, actually… anything and everything that has lactose.  Since I was a vegan I know what kind of things to look for, I’m just a little dissapointed that I need to go back to this lifestyle I guess. I know that eating lactose won’t kill me, but if I ” leave” my lactose free diet every weekend then every week I will have trouble with my intestine.. So it’s something that I must do continuously, that I can’t plan on escaping. What gets me is that I left the vegan lifestyle because it didn’t make sense anymore, and here in Brazil there isn’t soy ice cream, soy cheese, or rice milk. It kinda got me own a bit. I guess , on the bright side, it’s an easy way to lose weight before the wedding.

I know that there is a medicine called Lactaid that can help avoid certain situations, but it’s not available here in Brazil to buy, and right now I don’t have a way to get it down.  It just seems freakin hilarious how things are hard to get down here in Brazil! Ok, sorry. Enough ventihng about what Brazil has or doesn’t have, haha

Last night my fiancé and I went to the supermarket and bought soy milk, soy beverages, cookies without milk, soy chocolate pudding, all of the kinds of things I used to eat a coupe of years ago. It was difficult trying to get back into the swings of things, but who knows.. maybe soon I’ll get used to it!

 

2 comentários sobre “And if I don’t Choose the Vegan Lifestyle, The Vegan Lifestyle Chooses Me!

Deixe uma resposta

